Sunday, July 29, 2012

1161 Heat


sold Yesterday I headed north on 95 to southern Maine, where I was invited to teach a private workshop for a small group of painters. It was an enjoyable day of painting in the most delightful company. Other News: This is my entry into this month's GJWP challenge, the topic is "Heat." summer life, acrylic, 6" x 6"

Saturday, July 28, 2012

Thursday, July 26, 2012

1158 Covered

Other News: Regarding my no cadmium red and yellow dilemma - Liquitex has stated they are limiting the amount of cadmium they use in their future products. So, Cad Red Medium still exists but only in the 2oz tubes. The reason for the change is labeled as 'responsible manufacturing,' which sounds pretty good to me. still life, acrylic, 6" x 6" $100 click here to purchase.

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

1156 The Chair She Sat In

I went to figure drawing again and this time I delighted in the chair the model sat in (when it was empty while she took her breaks). I'l have to post that later this week. I would post the model painting, but I wouldn't want to offend anyone (and I mean with my out of practice anatomy skills). still life, acrylic, 5" x 7" $100 click here to purchase

Monday, July 23, 2012

1155 Staying

I mentioned recently that I've been drawing thumbnails to prepare for my paintings. I hope by doing this I will discover a little more about my subjects and compositions. still life, acrylic, 6" x 6", In Other News: I've been doing some value paintings on mylar, this one below is of the peonies I had last week, the image to the right is to show the scale.

Sunday, July 22, 2012

1154 Napthol Red

No Cad Red was used in the making of this painting. . . I used Napthol Red instead. During my last residency artist Byron Kim reviewed my work (I was totally starstruck) and suggested I try using different manufacturers of paints because it'll pose a new unexpected challenge with colors. The world apparently needed to run out of Cad Red before I tried his suggestion - which I totally enjoyed. . . no cad red life, 5"x 7" $100 click here to purchase

Saturday, July 21, 2012

#1153 Peonies in a Cup


sold During my demo in last Saturday's class, I set out to paint glass. . . and promptly edited out most of the jam jar the flowers were in. . . although one solution to painting glass, not quite what I was supposed to do. This is my Saturday glass cup - take two. Other News:  Does anyone know why it seems every art supply store is out of Cadmium Red Medium and Cadmium Yellow Medium Liquitex Heavy Body Acrylic? I have it on back order at three places right now - I'm worried. still life, acrylic, 6x6" 

Friday, July 20, 2012

Thursday, July 19, 2012

1151 Pinkish White Peony

sold When I can't use natural light, I light my subjects with a clip-on light from the hardware store. The bulb is a Sylvania 50 watt spot, for a strong, bright light. still life, acrylic, 4x4"

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Monday, July 16, 2012

Sunday, July 15, 2012

Saturday, July 14, 2012

Friday, July 13, 2012

Thursday, July 12, 2012

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

#1143 Elusive Peonies

sold I changed this painting twice today and finally retreated back to basics by doing a value study to figure it out. still life, acrylic, 4x4" $60 click here to purchase

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

1142 Life Drawing

sold I painted the figure tonight from a live model. (Note how it's not being shown - I need some practice). still life, 4x4" acrylic

Monday, July 9, 2012

1141 "91"


sold I'm figuring how dark the darks should be on a daisy. I'm also doing thumbnails before I start the paintings. I am happy to have a collection of thumbnails starting. By doing them, I think I'll be less likely to rely on compositions I know and be able to find new ones through the process. still life, acrylic, 4"x4"

Sunday, July 8, 2012

Saturday, July 7, 2012

1139 Early

sold I was one week early for a going away party tonight. .  .  my assistant  has swimming on her mind, which messes with her fluffy little head. . . . so, she is not managing my schedule very well. still life, acrylic, 4x4"

Friday, July 6, 2012

1138 Direct Light

Sold I also worked on a painting of Brie's courtyard today from 10 - noon. I am now designating certain times of the day to particular paintings. I figure it's a way to prevent myself from chasing the light but also not rush the painting.still life, acrylic, 5x7"

Thursday, July 5, 2012

1137 Shadow on the Wall


The shadow on the wall and the little sliver of light between the shadow and the glass is what made me paint this.  still life, acrylic, 4x4" $60 click here to purchase

Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

1135 Freethinker



sold
Other News:
Although it seemed like a good idea to consult the 'Random Word Generator' online to find a title for this painting, I'm just not sure. Before it generated 'freethinker' it gave me the name of a town in Michigan. still life, acrylic, 6x6"

Monday, July 2, 2012

1134 Pick Your Own

sold Things from the yard. yard life, 6x6" acrylic

Sunday, July 1, 2012